Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Yellville

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Marion County Courthouse, Yellville, ArkansasPhoto: Valis55 · CC BY-SA 3.0
Marion County Library

Yellville’s library logs 1.1 visits per resident, against a typical 3.1 for libraries its size

Marion County Library serves 17,076 people in and around Yellville. Last year it lent 35K books, movies and e-books and logged 19K visits.

308 Old Main, Yellville 72687
ACivic lifeAhead of 87% of U.S. towns. Nonprofits and volunteering.
Borrowed a year
35K
2 per resident
Visits a year
19K
1.1 per resident · Below typical (3.1)
Cardholders
19%
3,284 cards
In brief

Yellville’s library, in brief

Marion County Library is used less than most libraries its size

Marion County Library records 1.1 visits per resident, against a typical 3.1 for libraries serving 10,000 to 25,000 people. Borrowing is 1.1 print items per resident, against a typical 3.9. It also spends less than most: $11 per resident, against a typical $43. How it compares ↓

Few residents carry a card

Only 19% of the people the system serves have a library card, against a typical 40% for its size. How it compares ↓

44% of borrowing happens on a screen

E-books, e-audiobooks and streaming make up 44% of loans. That’s partly because print borrowing is low: digital loans per resident are below typical too. What people borrow ↓

Runs on less money than most

Marion County Library spends $11 per resident, less than 95% of similar-size libraries (typical: $43). What your card is worth ↓

This summary is written from the numbers on this page. Numbers are the library’s own report to the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024; Marion County Library serves 17,076 people in and around Yellville, and its numbers cover all of them.

Civic life grade

What’s behind Yellville’s civic life grade

On community nonprofits and volunteering, Yellville is ahead of 87% of U.S. towns. Yellville is graded on two of the three inputs. Both inputs are above most U.S. towns; the share of younger adults in volunteering groups ranks highest.

A
Civic lifeA character grade: shown, never part of Yellville’s overall grade.
All U.S. towns we grade (17,556)Ahead of 87%
FewerMore
U.S. towns with similar incomes, $28K–$47K (1,503)Ahead of 89%

Civic life counts registered nonprofits, library visits and online volunteering groups, so it can miss civic life that runs through congregations, mutual aid or neighbors looking out for each other.

How sure. Graded on two inputs, so a change in either one moves the letter more than it would with three. Yellville is small (1,095 residents), so a few dozen organizations or visits move its per-resident figures; the volunteering share is a 2022 estimate from Facebook users aged 25–44.

Library visits: IMLS Public Libraries Survey, FY2024. Nonprofits: IRS Exempt Organizations Business Master File, October 2026. Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. How TownRatings grades civic life →

Places to belong

6 community nonprofits are registered in Yellville

4.9 per 1,000 residents, against a U.S. town median of 3.7. The largest group: arts & culture.

Community nonprofits, by kind

Arts & culture10.98 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.24
Youth, sports & recreation10.49 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.52
Civic groups, clubs & veterans10.65 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.74
Human services10.82 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.59
Education00.33 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.43
Health00.33 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.16
Environment & animals10.82 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.17
Other10.49 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.47

Counted from the IRS list of tax-exempt organizations by mailing address (fractions where a ZIP code spans towns). Congregations are counted apart (1 here), since whether a church registers depends on its denomination, not the town.

Volunteering

10.8%

10.8% of Yellville’s Facebook users aged 25–44 belong to a volunteering or activism group, against 7.2% in the typical Arkansas town and 7.5% nationally.

Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. ZIP-code figures, weighted by where Yellville’s residents live; 2022.

★ What stands out · What people borrow

44% of borrowing is digital

35K loans last year: print, kids’ and digital.

35Kloans
Books & media (adults) 46%Kids’ books & media 9%E-books, audio & streaming 44%
From your couch

15,317 e-books, e-audiobooks and streams last year. Borrow from home with your card, plus research databases: courses, journals, genealogy and more.

How it compares

Below most similar-size libraries on all 6 measures

Per resident, against libraries serving 10,000 to 25,000 people across the U.S.

Visits per resident 1.1 visits · typical 3.1Lower than 88%
Borrowing per resident 1.1 print items · typical 3.9Lower than 89%
Digital borrowing 0.9 e-items · typical 1.1Lower than 57%
Kids’ borrowing 0.2 kids’ items · typical 1.8Bottom 10%
Cardholders 19% of residents · typical 40%Lower than 88%
Spending $11 per resident · typical $43Bottom 10%
Fewer per residentMore per resident
Size group

Marion County Library serves 17,076 people, so it’s measured against U.S. libraries serving 10,000 to 25,000.

A year at the library

A year at Marion County Library

Fiscal year 2024, for the whole Marion County Library system. The library’s own count.

19K
visits
1.1 per resident
35K
loans, print + digital
2 per resident
3,284
library cards
19% of people served
Every week371visits
5 staff (full-time equivalent)6 public computers

Not reported for 2024: hours open. The survey fills a missing figure with its own estimate; we leave estimates out rather than show them as the library’s count.

Kids & programs

What kids borrow

Story times, clubs, classes and events, across the whole system, by who they’re for.

Schools in Yellville →
3,228
kids’ books & media borrowed
The building

Find it

Marion County Library, 308 Old Main, Yellville.

3,600
square feet
With a card

E-books and audiobooks from home. Loans renew on their own if no one’s waiting. Research databases: courses, journals, genealogy. Good at every Marion County Library branch.

New in Yellville? The Handbook →

Hours are the survey’s yearly average. Check the library’s own site for today’s hours.

What your card is worth

For every $1 it spends, the library lends about $2.86 worth

Set what you’d borrow in a month. It starts at what the average Yellville cardholder borrows.

In a month I’d use…
Books$17 each
1
Kids’ books$12 each
0
E-books & audio$15 each
0
Movies & music$4 each
0
Programs & classes$10 a program
0
Computer & Wi-Fi$3 a session
0
Your card saves you about
$204
a year at retail prices · $17 a month

Who pays for it
$11 per resident a year

Typical for a library this size: $43. Operating budget $189K.

Local taxes 83%State 17%

Last year the library lent and hosted about $541K worth of books, e-books, programs and Wi-Fi on a $189K budget.

Late fines apply to some overdue items.

Retail prices are typical, rounded down: a new book $17, a kids’ book $12, an e-book or e-audiobook $15, a movie rental $4, a class or program $10, a computer or Wi-Fi session $3. The average cardholder’s month = the library’s yearly loans, attendance and Wi-Fi sessions ÷ its 3,284 cardholders ÷ 12.

Next door

Libraries next door

Who has a library of their own, and how much each town borrows. Tap a town to see its library.

12+ loans per resident8–124–8Under 4No library / shared system
TownLibraryLoans per residentHoursCivic life
YellvilleMarion County Library——A
SummitNone of its own——— under 1,000 residents

Loans = print + digital items borrowed in the library’s fiscal year, per person it serves. — = no library of its own, a county or regional system (its numbers cover many towns), or no report. Civic life: — = not graded (unincorporated places, whose nonprofits can’t be placed by mailing address, or towns with fewer than two of the three inputs).

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

From the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.

  • Not reported for 2024: hours open. The survey filled the figure with its own estimate, so it is left out.
  • System-wide. Marion County Library serves 17,076 people in and around Yellville, so the yearly numbers cover all of them, not just Yellville.

Hours are the survey’s yearly average; libraries are compared with others serving about as many people. How TownRatings uses library figures →

Questions about the library and civic life in Yellville

Does Yellville have a public library?

Yes. Marion County Library, 308 Old Main, serves 17,076 people in and around Yellville (the survey’s count).

Is Marion County Library fine-free? Does it lend e-books?

It charges late fines on some overdue items, and it lends e-books and audiobooks with a card (the library’s 2024 survey report).

How busy is Yellville’s library?

It logged 1.1 visits and lent 2.0 items per resident in 2024, against a typical 3.1 visits for libraries serving 10,000 to 25,000 people.

What is Yellville’s civic life grade?

A Yellville is ahead of 87% of U.S. towns on civic life. The grade combines library visits per resident, community nonprofits per 1,000 residents and the share of adults 25–44 in volunteering groups. It’s a character grade, so it isn’t part of the overall grade. How it works.

Book talk

Reading, story times and the library in Yellville.

Town Square →
Start a conversation

Libraries: Institute of Museum and Library Services, Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024. Each library reports its own numbers. Distances are straight-line from the town center. “What your card is worth” uses typical retail prices and is an estimate, not an official figure.