Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to McCrory

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
McCrory, AR 003Photo: Brandonrush · CC BY-SA 4.0
Mccrory Branch Library · part of East Central Arkansas Regional Library System

McCrory’s library is a branch of East Central Arkansas Regional Library System, which lends less per resident than 91% of systems its size

McCrory’s library is the Mccrory Branch Library, a branch of East Central Arkansas Regional Library System, which serves 22,002 people and lent 35K items last year.

105 East Second St., Mccrory 72101 · about 19 hours a week
C+Civic lifeAhead of 39% of U.S. towns. Nonprofits and volunteering.
Borrowed a year
35K
1.6 per resident
Visits a year
21K
1 per resident · Below typical (3.1)
Cardholders
49%
10,866 cards
Open
19 hrs
a week at this branch
In brief

What McCrory’s library is like

The East Central Arkansas Regional Library System is used less than most libraries its size

The East Central Arkansas Regional Library System records 1 visits per resident, against a typical 3.1 for libraries serving 10,000 to 25,000 people. Borrowing is 1 print items per resident, against a typical 3.9. How it compares ↓

Open only about 19 hours a week

The McCrory branch keeps short hours: about 19 a week, averaged over the year, so check its schedule before you go. The building ↓

This summary is written from the numbers on this page. Numbers are the library’s own report to the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024; McCrory’s library is a branch of East Central Arkansas Regional Library System, so they cover the whole system (22,002 people), not just the McCrory branch.

Civic life grade

What’s behind McCrory’s civic life grade

On community nonprofits and volunteering, McCrory is ahead of 39% of U.S. towns. McCrory is graded on two of the three inputs. McCrory’s count of community nonprofits holds the grade up; the share of younger adults in volunteering groups pulls it down.

C+
Civic lifeA character grade: shown, never part of McCrory’s overall grade.
All U.S. towns we grade (17,556)Ahead of 39%
FewerMore
U.S. towns with similar incomes, $33K–$54K (2,958)Ahead of 45%

Most U.S. towns with similar household incomes ($33K–$54K) score higher, so income alone doesn’t account for it.

Civic life counts registered nonprofits, library visits and online volunteering groups, so it can miss civic life that runs through congregations, mutual aid or neighbors looking out for each other.

How sure. Graded on two inputs, so a change in either one moves the letter more than it would with three. McCrory is small (1,440 residents), so a few dozen organizations or visits move its per-resident figures; the volunteering share is a 2022 estimate from Facebook users aged 25–44.

Library visits: IMLS Public Libraries Survey, FY2024. Nonprofits: IRS Exempt Organizations Business Master File, October 2026. Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. How TownRatings grades civic life →

Places to belong

10 community nonprofits are registered in McCrory

5.4 per 1,000 residents, against a U.S. town median of 3.7. The largest group: civic groups, clubs & veterans.

Community nonprofits, by kind

Arts & culture10.54 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.24
Youth, sports & recreation21.08 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.52
Civic groups, clubs & veterans31.62 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.74
Human services21.08 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.59
Education00.00 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.43
Health00.00 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.16
Environment & animals21.08 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.17

Counted from the IRS list of tax-exempt organizations by mailing address (fractions where a ZIP code spans towns). Congregations are counted apart (4 here), since whether a church registers depends on its denomination, not the town.

Volunteering

4.8%

4.8% of McCrory’s Facebook users aged 25–44 belong to a volunteering or activism group, against 7.2% in the typical Arkansas town and 7.5% nationally.

Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. ZIP-code figures, weighted by where McCrory’s residents live; 2022.

How it compares

Ahead of most similar-size libraries on 1 of 6 measures

Per resident, against libraries serving 10,000 to 25,000 people across the U.S.

Visits per resident 1 visits · typical 3.1Bottom 10%
Borrowing per resident 1 print items · typical 3.9Bottom 10%
Digital borrowing 0.6 e-items · typical 1.1Lower than 72%
Kids’ borrowing 0.4 kids’ items · typical 1.8Lower than 89%
Cardholders 49% of residents · typical 40%Higher than 66%
Spending $40 per resident · typical $43Lower than 54%
Fewer per residentMore per resident
Size group

East Central Arkansas Regional Library System serves 22,002 people, so it’s measured against U.S. libraries serving 10,000 to 25,000.

A year at the library

A year at East Central Arkansas Regional Library System

Fiscal year 2024, for the whole East Central Arkansas Regional Library System system. The library’s own count.

21K
visits
1 per resident
35K
loans, print + digital
1.6 per resident
11K
library cards
49% of people served
Every day9Wi-Fi sessions
9 staff (full-time equivalent)31 public computers

Not reported for 2024: hours open. The survey fills a missing figure with its own estimate; we leave estimates out rather than show them as the library’s count.

What people borrow

Mostly books and media off the shelf

35K loans last year: print, kids’ and digital.

35Kloans
Books & media (adults) 40%Kids’ books & media 23%E-books, audio & streaming 37%
From your couch

12,816 e-books, e-audiobooks and streams last year. Borrow from home with your card, plus research databases: courses, journals, genealogy and more.

Kids & programs

What kids borrow

Story times, clubs, classes and events, across the whole system, by who they’re for.

Schools in McCrory →
8,027
kids’ books & media borrowed
The building

Find it

Mccrory Branch Library, 105 East Second St., Mccrory.

19
hours open a week
850
square feet
With a card

No late fees. E-books and audiobooks from home. Research databases: courses, journals, genealogy. Good at every East Central Arkansas Regional Library System branch.

New in McCrory? The Handbook →

Hours are the survey’s yearly average. Check the library’s own site for today’s hours.

What your card is worth

What a library card is worth

Set what you’d borrow in a month. It starts at what the average McCrory cardholder borrows.

In a month I’d use…
Books$17 each
1
Kids’ books$12 each
0
E-books & audio$15 each
0
Movies & music$4 each
0
Programs & classes$10 a program
0
Computer & Wi-Fi$3 a session
0
Your card saves you about
$204
a year at retail prices · $17 a month

Who pays for it
$40 per resident a year

Typical for a library this size: $43. Operating budget $891K.

Local taxes 87%State 9%Gifts & other 5%

Last year the library lent and hosted about $533K worth of books, e-books, programs and Wi-Fi on a $891K budget.

Fine-free. No late fees on books returned late.

Retail prices are typical, rounded down: a new book $17, a kids’ book $12, an e-book or e-audiobook $15, a movie rental $4, a class or program $10, a computer or Wi-Fi session $3. The average cardholder’s month = the library’s yearly loans, attendance and Wi-Fi sessions ÷ its 10,866 cardholders ÷ 12.

Next door

Libraries next door

Who has a library of their own, and how much each town borrows. Tap a town to see its library.

12+ loans per resident8–124–8Under 4No library / shared system
TownLibraryLoans per residentHoursCivic life
McCroryMccrory Branch Library fine-free—19C+
PattersonNone of its own——— under 1,000 residents

Loans = print + digital items borrowed in the library’s fiscal year, per person it serves. — = no library of its own, a county or regional system (its numbers cover many towns), or no report. Civic life: — = not graded (unincorporated places, whose nonprofits can’t be placed by mailing address, or towns with fewer than two of the three inputs).

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

From the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.

  • Not reported for 2024: hours open. The survey filled the figure with its own estimate, so it is left out.
  • System-wide. Mccrory Branch Library is one branch of East Central Arkansas Regional Library System, so the yearly numbers cover every branch and all 22,002 people it serves.

Hours are the survey’s yearly average; libraries are compared with others serving about as many people. How TownRatings uses library figures →

Questions about the library and civic life in McCrory

Does McCrory have a public library?

Yes: Mccrory Branch Library, 105 East Second St., is a branch of East Central Arkansas Regional Library System, which serves 22,002 people. The branch is open about 19 hours a week, averaged over the year.

Is East Central Arkansas Regional Library System fine-free? Does it lend e-books?

Yes to both: no late fees, and e-books, audiobooks and research databases with a card (the library’s 2024 survey report).

How busy is McCrory’s library?

It logged 1.0 visits and lent 1.6 items per resident in 2024, against a typical 3.1 visits for libraries serving 10,000 to 25,000 people.

What is McCrory’s civic life grade?

C+ McCrory is ahead of 39% of U.S. towns on civic life. The grade combines library visits per resident, community nonprofits per 1,000 residents and the share of adults 25–44 in volunteering groups. It’s a character grade, so it isn’t part of the overall grade. How it works.

Book talk

Reading, story times and the library in McCrory.

Town Square →
Start a conversation

Libraries: Institute of Museum and Library Services, Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024. Each library reports its own numbers. Distances are straight-line from the town center. “What your card is worth” uses typical retail prices and is an estimate, not an official figure.