Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Hampton

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Hampton WaterworksPhoto: Valis55 · CC BY-SA 4.0
Calhoun County Library

Hampton’s library logs 0.9 visits per resident, against a typical 3 for libraries its size

Calhoun County Library serves 4,641 people in and around Hampton. Last year it lent 4,030 print books and media and logged 4,198 visits.

115 South Second Street, Hampton 71744 · about 26 hours a week
CCivic lifeAhead of 34% of U.S. towns. Nonprofits and volunteering.
Borrowed a year
4,030
0.9 per resident
Visits a year
4,198
0.9 per resident · Below typical (3)
Cardholders
23%
1,045 cards
Open
26 hrs
a week at this branch

What stands out about Calhoun County Library

Read from the library’s own yearly report. The page puts what stands out first.

Civic life grade

What’s behind Hampton’s civic life grade

On community nonprofits and volunteering, Hampton is ahead of 34% of U.S. towns. Hampton is graded on two of the three inputs. Both inputs sit below most U.S. towns; Hampton’s count of community nonprofits comes closest to the middle.

C
Civic lifeA character grade: shown, never part of Hampton’s overall grade.
All U.S. towns we grade (17,556)Ahead of 34%
FewerMore
U.S. towns with similar incomes, $35K–$58K (3,809)Ahead of 37%

Most U.S. towns with similar household incomes ($35K–$58K) score higher, so income alone doesn’t account for it.

Civic life counts registered nonprofits, library visits and online volunteering groups, so it can miss civic life that runs through congregations, mutual aid or neighbors looking out for each other.

How sure. Graded on two inputs, so a change in either one moves the letter more than it would with three. Hampton is small (1,145 residents), so a few dozen organizations or visits move its per-resident figures; the volunteering share is a 2022 estimate from Facebook users aged 25–44.

Library visits: IMLS Public Libraries Survey, FY2024. Nonprofits: IRS Exempt Organizations Business Master File, October 2026. Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. How TownRatings grades civic life →

Places to belong

4 community nonprofits are registered in Hampton

3.4 per 1,000 residents, against a U.S. town median of 3.7. The largest group: health.

Community nonprofits, by kind

Arts & culture00.00 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.24
Youth, sports & recreation00.39 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.52
Civic groups, clubs & veterans00.39 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.74
Human services00.00 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.59
Education00.00 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.43
Health10.77 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.16
Environment & animals00.39 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.17
Other21.54 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.47

Counted from the IRS list of tax-exempt organizations by mailing address (fractions where a ZIP code spans towns). Congregations are counted apart (2 here), since whether a church registers depends on its denomination, not the town.

Volunteering

6.8%

6.8% of Hampton’s Facebook users aged 25–44 belong to a volunteering or activism group, against 7.2% in the typical Arkansas town and 7.5% nationally.

Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. ZIP-code figures, weighted by where Hampton’s residents live; 2022.

How it compares

Below most similar-size libraries on all 3 measures

Per resident, against libraries serving 2,500 to 10,000 people across the U.S.

Visits per resident 0.9 visits · typical 3Bottom 10%
Borrowing per resident 0.9 print items · typical 3.8Bottom 10%
Cardholders 23% of residents · typical 42%Lower than 82%
Fewer per residentMore per resident
Size group

Calhoun County Library serves 4,641 people, so it’s measured against U.S. libraries serving 2,500 to 10,000.

A year at the library

Every hour the doors are open, about 2 items go out

Fiscal year 2024, for the whole Calhoun County Library system. The library’s own count.

4,198
visits
0.9 per resident
4,030
loans, print + digital
0.9 per resident
1,045
library cards
23% of people served
Every open hour2items borrowed
Every week81visits
3 staff (full-time equivalent)2 public computers

Not reported for 2024: spending. The survey fills a missing figure with its own estimate; we leave estimates out rather than show them as the library’s count.

What people borrow

Books and media off the shelf

4,030 print loans last year. The library didn’t report its e-book and e-audiobook loans.

The survey has no count of children’s loans for Hampton’s library in 2024, so there’s no split between adults’ and kids’ borrowing.

The building

Find it

Calhoun County Library, 115 South Second Street, Hampton.

26
hours open a week
3,890
square feet
With a card

No late fees. Good at every Calhoun County Library branch.

New in Hampton? The Handbook →

Hours are the survey’s yearly average. Check the library’s own site for today’s hours.

What your card is worth

What a library card is worth

Set what you’d borrow in a month. It starts at what the average Hampton cardholder borrows.

In a month I’d use…
Books$17 each
1
Kids’ books$12 each
0
E-books & audio$15 each
0
Movies & music$4 each
0
Programs & classes$10 a program
0
Computer & Wi-Fi$3 a session
0
Your card saves you about
$204
a year at retail prices · $17 a month

Fine-free. No late fees on books returned late.

Retail prices are typical, rounded down: a new book $17, a kids’ book $12, an e-book or e-audiobook $15, a movie rental $4, a class or program $10, a computer or Wi-Fi session $3. The average cardholder’s month = the library’s yearly loans, attendance and Wi-Fi sessions ÷ its 1,045 cardholders ÷ 12.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

From the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.

  • Not reported for 2024: spending. The survey filled the figure with its own estimate, so it is left out.
  • Digital loans not reported. The library didn’t report e-book loans, so borrowing here is print only.
  • System-wide. Calhoun County Library serves 4,641 people in and around Hampton, so the yearly numbers cover all of them, not just Hampton.

Hours are the survey’s yearly average; libraries are compared with others serving about as many people. How TownRatings uses library figures →

Questions about the library and civic life in Hampton

Does Hampton have a public library?

Yes. Calhoun County Library, 115 South Second Street, serves 4,641 people in and around Hampton (the survey’s count) and is open about 26 hours a week, averaged over the year.

Is Calhoun County Library fine-free?

Yes, no late fees (the library’s 2024 survey report).

How busy is Hampton’s library?

It logged 0.9 visits and lent 0.9 print items per resident in 2024, against a typical 3 visits for libraries serving 2,500 to 10,000 people.

What is Hampton’s civic life grade?

C Hampton is ahead of 34% of U.S. towns on civic life. The grade combines library visits per resident, community nonprofits per 1,000 residents and the share of adults 25–44 in volunteering groups. It’s a character grade, so it isn’t part of the overall grade. How it works.

Book talk

Reading, story times and the library in Hampton.

Town Square →
Start a conversation

Libraries: Institute of Museum and Library Services, Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024. Each library reports its own numbers. Distances are straight-line from the town center. “What your card is worth” uses typical retail prices and is an estimate, not an official figure.