Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Fort Smith

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Fort Smith, AR 002Photo: Brandonrush · CC BY-SA 4.0
Fort Smith Public Library

Fort Smith’s library lends 2.7 print items per resident, against a typical 3.7 for libraries its size

Fort Smith Public Library serves Fort Smith’s 89,142 residents from 4 locations. Last year it lent 237K print books and media and logged 214K visits.

3201 Rogers Avenue, Fort Smith 72903 · about 60 hours a week
CCivic lifeAhead of 30% of U.S. towns · #74 of 114 in Arkansas. Library visits, nonprofits and volunteering.
Borrowed a year
237K
2.7 per resident
Visits a year
214K
2.4 per resident · Below typical (2.6)
Cardholders
100%
114,029 cards
Open
60 hrs
a week
In brief

Fort Smith’s library, in brief

More library cards than residents

114,029 cards for 89,142 people. Cards held by people from outside the service area count too, so the total can pass the population. At the typical library serving 25,000 to 100,000 people, it’s 39%. How it compares ↓

Four places to borrow in Fort Smith

Fort Smith Public Library runs four locations, and one card works at all of them. The buildings ↓

This summary is written from the numbers on this page. Numbers are the library’s own report to the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.

Civic life grade

What’s behind Fort Smith’s civic life grade

On library visits, community nonprofits and volunteering, Fort Smith is ahead of 30% of U.S. towns, #74 of 114 in Arkansas. Fort Smith’s count of community nonprofits holds the grade up; the share of younger adults in volunteering groups pulls it down.

C
Civic lifeA character grade: shown, never part of Fort Smith’s overall grade.
All U.S. towns we grade (17,556)Ahead of 30%
FewerMore
Arkansas towns we grade (114)Ahead of 35%
U.S. towns with similar incomes, $41K–$69K (6,322)Ahead of 29%

Most U.S. towns with similar household incomes ($41K–$69K) score higher, so income alone doesn’t account for it.

Civic life counts registered nonprofits, library visits and online volunteering groups, so it can miss civic life that runs through congregations, mutual aid or neighbors looking out for each other.

How sure. Graded on any two of the three inputs instead, the letter would range from C− to C. The volunteering share is a 2022 estimate from Facebook users aged 25–44.

Library visits: IMLS Public Libraries Survey, FY2024. Nonprofits: IRS Exempt Organizations Business Master File, October 2026. Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. How TownRatings grades civic life →

Places to belong

342 community nonprofits are registered in Fort Smith

3.8 per 1,000 residents, against a U.S. town median of 3.7. The largest group: human services.

Community nonprofits, by kind

Arts & culture290.32 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.24
Youth, sports & recreation400.45 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.52
Civic groups, clubs & veterans460.51 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.74
Human services530.59 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.59
Education330.37 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.43
Health330.37 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.16
Environment & animals160.18 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.17
Other921.02 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.47

Counted from the IRS list of tax-exempt organizations by mailing address (fractions where a ZIP code spans towns). Congregations are counted apart (109 here), since whether a church registers depends on its denomination, not the town. 9 more name a national or statewide reach and are left out.

Volunteering

6.2%

6.2% of Fort Smith’s Facebook users aged 25–44 belong to a volunteering or activism group, against 7.2% in the typical Arkansas town and 7.5% nationally.

Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. ZIP-code figures, weighted by where Fort Smith’s residents live; 2022.

★ What stands out · How it compares

Ahead of most similar-size libraries on 2 of 4 measures

Per resident, against libraries serving 25,000 to 100,000 people across the U.S.

Visits per resident 2.4 visits · typical 2.6Lower than 55%
Borrowing per resident 2.7 print items · typical 3.7Lower than 64%
Cardholders 100% of residents · typical 39%Top 10%
Spending $45 per resident · typical $40Higher than 57%
Fewer per residentMore per resident
Ranked in AR#6Most-used librariesof 7 towns
#7Most library borrowingof 7 towns
Size group

Fort Smith Public Library serves 89,142 people, so it’s measured against U.S. libraries serving 25,000 to 100,000.

A year at the library

Every hour the doors are open, about 25 items go out

Fiscal year 2024. The library’s own count.

214K
visits
2.4 per resident
237K
loans, print + digital
2.7 per resident
114K
library cards
100% of people served
Every open hour25items borrowed
Every day226Wi-Fi sessions
62 public computers258K books & media on the shelves

Not reported for 2024: staff. The survey fills a missing figure with its own estimate; we leave estimates out rather than show them as the library’s count.

What people borrow

Books and media off the shelf

237K print loans last year. The library didn’t report its e-book and e-audiobook loans.

The survey has no count of children’s loans for Fort Smith’s library in 2024, so there’s no split between adults’ and kids’ borrowing.

How hard the shelves work
0.9×

Each of the 258K books and other items on the shelves went out about 0.9 time last year, on average.

From your couch

Borrow from home with your card, plus research databases: courses, journals, genealogy and more.

The buildings

4 places to borrow in Fort Smith

Fort Smith Public Library, 3201 Rogers Avenue, Fort Smith.

60
hours open a week
67,000
square feet
258K
books & media
With a card

E-books and audiobooks from home. Research databases: courses, journals, genealogy.

New in Fort Smith? The Handbook →

Hours are the survey’s yearly average. Check the library’s own site for today’s hours.

Other libraries in Fort Smith

What your card is worth

For every $1 it spends, the library lends about $1.06 worth

Set what you’d borrow in a month. It starts at what the average Fort Smith cardholder borrows.

In a month I’d use…
Books$17 each
1
Kids’ books$12 each
0
E-books & audio$15 each
0
Movies & music$4 each
0
Programs & classes$10 a program
0
Computer & Wi-Fi$3 a session
0
Your card saves you about
$204
a year at retail prices · $17 a month

Who pays for it
$45 per resident a year

Typical for a library this size: $40. Operating budget $4M.

Local taxes 84%State 4%Gifts & other 12%

Last year the library lent and hosted about $4.3M worth of books, e-books, programs and Wi-Fi on a $4M budget.

Late fines apply to some overdue items.

Retail prices are typical, rounded down: a new book $17, a kids’ book $12, an e-book or e-audiobook $15, a movie rental $4, a class or program $10, a computer or Wi-Fi session $3. The average cardholder’s month = the library’s yearly loans, attendance and Wi-Fi sessions ÷ its 114,029 cardholders ÷ 12.

Next door

Libraries next door

Who has a library of their own, and how much each town borrows. Tap a town to see its library.

12+ loans per resident8–124–8Under 4No library / shared system
TownLibraryLoans per residentHoursCivic life
Fort SmithFort Smith Public Library2.760C
Van BurenCrawford County Library System fine-free—42C+
ArkomaArkoma Public Library—37C
BarlingNone of its own——C−

Loans = print + digital items borrowed in the library’s fiscal year, per person it serves. — = no library of its own, a county or regional system (its numbers cover many towns), or no report. Civic life: — = not graded (unincorporated places, whose nonprofits can’t be placed by mailing address, or towns with fewer than two of the three inputs).

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

From the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.

  • Not reported for 2024: staff. The survey filled the figure with its own estimate, so it is left out.
  • Digital loans not reported. The library didn’t report e-book loans, so borrowing here is print only.

Hours are the survey’s yearly average; libraries are compared with others serving about as many people. How TownRatings uses library figures →

Questions about the library and civic life in Fort Smith

Does Fort Smith have a public library?

Yes. Fort Smith Public Library, 3201 Rogers Avenue, serves Fort Smith’s 89,142 residents (the survey’s count) and is open about 60 hours a week, averaged over the year.

Is Fort Smith Public Library fine-free? Does it lend e-books?

It charges late fines on some overdue items, and it lends e-books and audiobooks with a card (the library’s 2024 survey report).

How busy is Fort Smith’s library?

It logged 2.4 visits and lent 2.7 print items per resident in 2024, against a typical 2.6 visits for libraries serving 25,000 to 100,000 people.

What is Fort Smith’s civic life grade?

C Fort Smith is ahead of 30% of U.S. towns on civic life, #74 of 114 in Arkansas. The grade combines library visits per resident, community nonprofits per 1,000 residents and the share of adults 25–44 in volunteering groups. It’s a character grade, so it isn’t part of the overall grade. How it works.

Book talk

Reading, story times and the library in Fort Smith.

Town Square →
Start a conversation

Libraries: Institute of Museum and Library Services, Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024. Each library reports its own numbers. Distances are straight-line from the town center. “What your card is worth” uses typical retail prices and is an estimate, not an official figure.