Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Bryant

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Andrew Hunter HouseAndrew Hunter House · Photo: Marlo B. Krueger · CC BY-SA 3.0
Mabel Boswell Memorial Library · part of Mid Arkansas Regional Library System

Bryant’s library is a branch of Mid Arkansas Regional Library System, which lends less per resident than 92% of systems its size

Bryant’s library is the Mabel Boswell Memorial Library, a branch of Mid Arkansas Regional Library System, which serves 189,438 people and lent 191K items last year.

201 North Prickett Road, Bryant 72022 · about 51 hours a week
CCivic lifeAhead of 25% of U.S. towns · #84 of 114 in Arkansas. Nonprofits and volunteering.
Borrowed a year
191K
1 per resident
Visits a year
321K
1.7 per resident · Below typical (2.1)
Programs & events
1,863
about 36 a week · 32K attended
Cardholders
56%
106,657 cards
Open
51 hrs
a week at this branch
In brief

What Bryant’s library is like

Kids’ books are most of what goes out

Children’s books and media make up 96% of print loans. Per resident, kids’ borrowing is lower than at 73% of similar-size libraries, so the high share mostly reflects light borrowing by adults. What people borrow ↓

People visit, but borrow less than most

The Mid Arkansas Regional Library System lends 1 print items per resident, against a typical 3.2 for libraries serving 100,000+ people, fewer than 92% of similar-size libraries, though visits are closer to typical. What people borrow ↓

This summary is written from the numbers on this page. Numbers are the library’s own report to the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024; Bryant’s library is a branch of Mid Arkansas Regional Library System, so they cover the whole system (189,438 people), not just the Bryant branch.

Civic life grade

What’s behind Bryant’s civic life grade

On community nonprofits and volunteering, Bryant is ahead of 25% of U.S. towns, #84 of 114 in Arkansas. Bryant is graded on two of the three inputs. Both inputs sit below most U.S. towns; the share of younger adults in volunteering groups comes closest to the middle.

C
Civic lifeA character grade: shown, never part of Bryant’s overall grade.
All U.S. towns we grade (17,556)Ahead of 25%
FewerMore
Arkansas towns we grade (114)Ahead of 27%
U.S. towns with similar incomes, $62K–$104K (8,907)Ahead of 24%

Most U.S. towns with similar household incomes ($62K–$104K) score higher, so income alone doesn’t account for it.

Civic life counts registered nonprofits, library visits and online volunteering groups, so it can miss civic life that runs through congregations, mutual aid or neighbors looking out for each other.

How sure. Graded on two inputs, so a change in either one moves the letter more than it would with three. The volunteering share is a 2022 estimate from Facebook users aged 25–44.

Library visits: IMLS Public Libraries Survey, FY2024. Nonprofits: IRS Exempt Organizations Business Master File, October 2026. Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. How TownRatings grades civic life →

Places to belong

59 community nonprofits are registered in Bryant

2.8 per 1,000 residents, against a U.S. town median of 3.7. The largest group: civic groups, clubs & veterans.

Community nonprofits, by kind

Arts & culture30.15 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.24
Youth, sports & recreation140.64 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.52
Civic groups, clubs & veterans150.68 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.74
Human services130.60 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.59
Education80.36 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.43
Health10.03 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.16
Environment & animals10.07 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.17
Other50.25 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.47

Counted from the IRS list of tax-exempt organizations by mailing address (fractions where a ZIP code spans towns). Congregations are counted apart (14 here), since whether a church registers depends on its denomination, not the town. 3 more name a national or statewide reach and are left out.

Volunteering

6.8%

6.8% of Bryant’s Facebook users aged 25–44 belong to a volunteering or activism group, against 7.2% in the typical Arkansas town and 7.5% nationally.

Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. ZIP-code figures, weighted by where Bryant’s residents live; 2022.

How it compares

Ahead of most similar-size libraries on 2 of 7 measures

Per resident, against libraries serving 100,000+ people across the U.S.

Visits per resident 1.7 visits · typical 2.1Lower than 67%
Borrowing per resident 1 print items · typical 3.2Bottom 10%
Kids’ borrowing 1 kids’ items · typical 1.6Lower than 73%
Program attendance 0.2 attendees · typical 0.2Lower than 65%
Programs offered 9.8 per 1,000 residents · typical 9Higher than 52%
Cardholders 56% of residents · typical 41%Higher than 75%
Spending $21 per resident · typical $36Lower than 77%
Fewer per residentMore per resident
Size group

Mid Arkansas Regional Library System serves 189,438 people, so it’s measured against U.S. libraries serving 100,000+.

A year at the library

A year at Mid Arkansas Regional Library System

Fiscal year 2024, for the whole Mid Arkansas Regional Library System system. The library’s own count.

321K
visits
1.7 per resident
191K
loans, print + digital
1 per resident
1,863
programs & events
32K attended
107K
library cards
56% of people served
Every week617people at a program
Every day73Wi-Fi sessions
64 staff (full-time equivalent)89 public computers

Not reported for 2024: hours open. The survey fills a missing figure with its own estimate; we leave estimates out rather than show them as the library’s count.

What people borrow

More than half the print loans are kids’ books

191K print loans last year. The library didn’t report its e-book and e-audiobook loans.

191Kloans
Books & media (adults) 4%Kids’ books & media 96%
From your couch

Borrow from home with your card, plus research databases: courses, journals, genealogy and more.

Kids & programs

About 22 kids’ programs a week

Story times, clubs, classes and events, across the whole system, by who they’re for.

Schools in Bryant →

Programs last year by age group

Ages 0–5618
Ages 6–11516
Teens269
Adults460
All ages0
Little ones
11.9

story times and programs a week for ages 0–5, on average.

183K
kids’ books & media borrowed
32K
people at programs
1,863
programs
The building

Find it

Mabel Boswell Memorial Library, 201 North Prickett Road, Bryant.

51
hours open a week
10,000
square feet
With a card

E-books and audiobooks from home. Loans renew on their own if no one’s waiting. Research databases: courses, journals, genealogy. Good at every Mid Arkansas Regional Library System branch.

New in Bryant? The Handbook →

Hours are the survey’s yearly average. Check the library’s own site for today’s hours.

What your card is worth

What a library card is worth

Set what you’d borrow in a month. It starts at what the average Bryant cardholder borrows.

In a month I’d use…
Books$17 each
1
Kids’ books$12 each
0
E-books & audio$15 each
0
Movies & music$4 each
0
Programs & classes$10 a program
0
Computer & Wi-Fi$3 a session
0
Your card saves you about
$204
a year at retail prices · $17 a month

Who pays for it
$21 per resident a year

Typical for a library this size: $36. Operating budget $4M.

Local taxes 93%State 7%Gifts & other 0%

Last year the library lent and hosted about $2.7M worth of books, e-books, programs and Wi-Fi on a $4M budget.

Late fines apply to some overdue items.

Retail prices are typical, rounded down: a new book $17, a kids’ book $12, an e-book or e-audiobook $15, a movie rental $4, a class or program $10, a computer or Wi-Fi session $3. The average cardholder’s month = the library’s yearly loans, attendance and Wi-Fi sessions ÷ its 106,657 cardholders ÷ 12.

Next door

Libraries next door

Who has a library of their own, and how much each town borrows. Tap a town to see its library.

12+ loans per resident8–124–8Under 4No library / shared system
TownLibraryLoans per residentHoursCivic life
BryantMabel Boswell Memorial Library—51C
BentonBob Herzfeld Memorial Library—51B
AlexanderNone of its own——D
Shannon HillsNone of its own——D
BauxiteNone of its own——— under 1,000 residents

Loans = print + digital items borrowed in the library’s fiscal year, per person it serves. — = no library of its own, a county or regional system (its numbers cover many towns), or no report. Civic life: — = not graded (unincorporated places, whose nonprofits can’t be placed by mailing address, or towns with fewer than two of the three inputs).

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

From the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.

  • Not reported for 2024: hours open. The survey filled the figure with its own estimate, so it is left out.
  • Digital loans not reported. The library didn’t report e-book loans, so borrowing here is print only.
  • System-wide. Mabel Boswell Memorial Library is one branch of Mid Arkansas Regional Library System, so the yearly numbers cover every branch and all 189,438 people it serves.

Hours are the survey’s yearly average; libraries are compared with others serving about as many people. How TownRatings uses library figures →

Questions about the library and civic life in Bryant

Does Bryant have a public library?

Yes: Mabel Boswell Memorial Library, 201 North Prickett Road, is a branch of Mid Arkansas Regional Library System, which serves 189,438 people. The branch is open about 51 hours a week, averaged over the year.

Is Mid Arkansas Regional Library System fine-free? Does it lend e-books?

It charges late fines on some overdue items, and it lends e-books and audiobooks with a card (the library’s 2024 survey report).

How busy is Bryant’s library?

It logged 1.7 visits and lent 1.0 print items per resident in 2024, against a typical 2.1 visits for libraries serving 100,000+ people.

What is Bryant’s civic life grade?

C Bryant is ahead of 25% of U.S. towns on civic life, #84 of 114 in Arkansas. The grade combines library visits per resident, community nonprofits per 1,000 residents and the share of adults 25–44 in volunteering groups. It’s a character grade, so it isn’t part of the overall grade. How it works.

Book talk

Reading, story times and the library in Bryant.

Town Square →
Start a conversation

Libraries: Institute of Museum and Library Services, Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024. Each library reports its own numbers. Distances are straight-line from the town center. “What your card is worth” uses typical retail prices and is an estimate, not an official figure.