Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Uniontown

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
City of Uniontown, AlabamaPhoto: La'Quincy May, Photographer · CC BY-SA 4.0
Safety in Uniontown · Not graded

Crime reported in Uniontown, AL

Uniontown’s police reported to the FBI for 2023 and 2024 but not 2025, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025. Demopolis, 20 miles away, is the nearest town with a Safety Grade (D−).

Violent crimes
7
reported to the FBI, 2024
Property crimes
1
reported to the FBI, 2024
Nearest graded town
20 mi
Demopolis (D−)
1,000 neighbors · one year

For every 1,000 residents, about 1 property crime reported

Property crime (0.5)Violent crime (3.6)Everyone else

Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2024

Uniontown3.6
Rest of AL4.8
U.S. (FBI)3.6

Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2024

Uniontown0.5
Rest of AL21.8
U.S. (FBI)17.7

Crimes reported to police in 2024 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.

And about 4 violent crimes, in 2024. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.

By year

The years Uniontown’s police reported

Show as a table
YearUniontownRest of AlabamaUniontownRest of Alabama
2022not reported24.8not reported5.3
202310.222.312.74.9
20240.521.83.64.8
2025not reported19.9not reported4.4

Crimes per 1,000 residents

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of Alabama. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.

What gets reported

8 crimes reported in 2024

2024 offenses reported

Larceny / theft1
Burglary0
Vehicle theft0
Aggravated assault6
Robbery0
Rape1
Homicide0
Arson0
7
violent crimes
1
property crimes

Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.

7 violent and 1 property, as reported to the FBI by Uniontown’s police.

Nearest with figures

The nearest Alabama towns with a Safety Grade

TownGradeDistanceViolentProperty
DemopolisD−20 mi9.235.9
SelmaD26 mi7.220.9
BrentD39 mi5.422.1
ThomasvilleD40 mi3.531.4
CentrevilleC41 mi4.610.0
LivingstonC−42 mi5.315.2

Straight-line distance from the center of Uniontown. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Uniontown.

Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

On the roads

No one died in a crash on Uniontown’s roads in 2019–2023

That is about what is typical for Alabama towns of 2,500–5,000 people: at their median rate (11.2 deaths per 100,000 residents a year), a town of Uniontown’s size would see about 1 in five years. With numbers this small, a death or two either way changes the picture, so Uniontown’s own rate (0.0) is context, not a ranking.

0
people died in crashes, 2019–2023
0
pedestrians among them
0
cyclists among them
0.0
per 100,000 a year · Alabama towns of 2,500–5,000: 11.2

Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.

Next door

Uniontown and its neighbors

Uniontown
A rangeB rangeC rangeD rangeNot graded
TownGradeViolentProperty

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

  • It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
  • One number for all of Uniontown. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
  • Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Uniontown’s residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
  • Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (1,921 in 2024); our figure for Uniontown is 1,873 (2025 Census estimate).
  • Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.

How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →

Questions about safety in Uniontown

Is Uniontown, AL safe?

There is no Safety Grade for Uniontown. The nearest Alabama towns with a grade are Demopolis (D−, 20 mi), Selma (D, 26 mi), Brent (D, 39 mi).

Who polices Uniontown?

Uniontown’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Uniontown”. Its figures are the ones on this page.

Heads-up board

Town Square →
Weigh in
Does Uniontown feel safe walking around at night?

Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.

Post a heads-up

Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.

Neighbors looking out for each other in Uniontown.

Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2024, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.