Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Killen

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Clyde Carter HouseClyde Carter House · Photo: Spyder_Monkey · CC BY-SA 3.0
Safety in Killen · Not graded

Crime reported in Killen, AL

Killen’s police reported to the FBI for 2023 and 2024 but not 2025, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025.

Violent crimes
1
reported to the FBI, 2024
Property crimes
10
reported to the FBI, 2024
Nearest graded town
8 mi
Florence (D)
1,000 neighbors · one year

For every 1,000 residents, about 10 property crimes reported

And about 1 violent crime, in 2024. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.

Property crime (9.6)Violent crime (1)Everyone else

Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2024

Killen1.0
Rest of AL4.8
U.S. (FBI)3.6

Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2024

Killen9.6
Rest of AL21.7
U.S. (FBI)17.7

Crimes reported to police in 2024 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.

By year

The years Killen’s police reported

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of Alabama. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.

Show as a table
YearKillenRest of AlabamaKillenRest of Alabama
202215.324.84.85.3
202312.522.31.04.9
20249.621.71.04.8
2025not reported19.9not reported4.4

Crimes per 1,000 residents

What gets reported

11 crimes reported in 2024

1 violent and 10 property, as reported to the FBI by Killen’s police.

2024 offenses reported

Larceny / theft6
Burglary0
Vehicle theft4
Aggravated assault1
Robbery0
Rape0
Homicide0
Arson0
1
violent crimes
10
property crimes

Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.

Nearest with figures

The nearest Alabama towns with a Safety Grade

Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

TownGradeDistanceViolentProperty
FlorenceD8 mi5.621.2
Muscle ShoalsC−10 mi2.225.3
SheffieldC12 mi3.916.4
TuscumbiaA−14 mi0.74.9
RogersvilleC+14 mi1.617.6
LittlevilleB−20 mi1.311.8

Straight-line distance from the center of Killen. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Killen.

On the roads

One person died in crashes on Killen’s roads in 2019–2023

Killen had 1 fatal crash in five years, in which one person died.

That is about what is typical for Alabama towns of 2,500–5,000 people: at their median rate (11.2 deaths per 100,000 residents a year), a town of Killen’s size would see about 1 in five years. With numbers this small, a death or two either way changes the picture, so Killen’s own rate (17.4) is context, not a ranking.

1
people died in crashes, 2019–2023
0
pedestrians among them
0
cyclists among them
17.4
per 100,000 a year · Alabama towns of 2,500–5,000: 11.2

Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.

Next door

Killen and its neighbors

How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.

Killen
A rangeB rangeC rangeD rangeNot graded
TownGradeViolentProperty

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

  • It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
  • One number for all of Killen. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
  • Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Killen’s residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
  • Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (1,037 in 2024); our figure for Killen is 1,039 (2025 Census estimate).
  • Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.

How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →

Questions about safety in Killen

Is Killen, AL safe?

There is no Safety Grade for Killen. Killen’s police reported to the FBI for 2023 and 2024 but not 2025, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025. The nearest Alabama towns with a grade are Florence (D, 8 mi), Muscle Shoals (C−, 10 mi), Sheffield (C, 12 mi).

Who polices Killen?

Killen’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Killen”. Its figures are the ones on this page.

Heads-up board

Neighbors looking out for each other in Killen.

Town Square →
Weigh in
Does Killen feel safe walking around at night?

Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.

Post a heads-up

Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.

Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2024, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.