Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Glencoe

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Glencoe Alabama city hall and surroundingsPhoto: YonderStone · CC BY-SA 4.0
Safety in Glencoe · Not graded

Crime reported in Glencoe, AL

Glencoe has no FBI crime figures of its own for 2023–2025, so there is nothing to grade it on.

Violent crimes
4
reported to the FBI, 2022
Property crimes
25
reported to the FBI, 2022
Nearest graded town
5 mi
Hokes Bluff (A−)
1,000 neighbors · one year

For every 1,000 residents, about 5 property crimes reported

And about 1 violent crime, in 2022. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.

Property crime (4.6)Violent crime (0.7)Everyone else

Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2022

Glencoe0.7
Rest of AL5.4
U.S. (FBI)4.0

Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2022

Glencoe4.6
Rest of AL24.9
U.S. (FBI)20.0

Crimes reported to police in 2022 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.

By year

The years Glencoe’s police reported

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of Alabama. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.

Show as a table
YearGlencoeRest of AlabamaGlencoeRest of Alabama
20224.624.90.75.4
2023not reported22.2not reported4.9
2024not reported21.7not reported4.8
2025not reported19.9not reported4.4

Crimes per 1,000 residents

What gets reported

29 crimes reported in 2022

4 violent and 25 property, as reported to the FBI by Glencoe’s police.

2022 offenses reported

Larceny / theft15
Burglary3
Vehicle theft7
Aggravated assault4
Robbery0
Rape0
Homicide0
Arson0
4
violent crimes
25
property crimes

Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.

Nearest with figures

The nearest Alabama towns with a Safety Grade

Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

TownGradeDistanceViolentProperty
Hokes BluffA−5 mi0.95.2
GadsdenD6 mi5.428.7
SouthsideA6 mi0.73.1
Rainbow CityB9 mi1.010.2
AttallaD−11 mi5.948.7
OhatcheeD12 mi3.930.5

Straight-line distance from the center of Glencoe. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Glencoe.

On the roads

Two people died in crashes on Glencoe’s roads in 2019–2023

Glencoe had 2 fatal crashes in five years, in which two people died.

That is about what is typical for Alabama towns of 5,000–25,000 people: at their median rate (9.6 deaths per 100,000 residents a year), a town of Glencoe’s size would see about 3 in five years. With numbers this small, a death or two either way changes the picture, so Glencoe’s own rate (7.5) is context, not a ranking.

2
people died in crashes, 2019–2023
0
pedestrians among them
0
cyclists among them
7.5
per 100,000 a year · Alabama towns of 5,000–25,000: 9.6

Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.

Next door

Glencoe and its neighbors

How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.

A rangeB rangeC rangeD rangeNot graded
TownGradeViolentProperty
GadsdenD5.428.7
Hokes BluffA−0.95.2
SouthsideA0.73.1

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

  • It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
  • One number for all of Glencoe. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
  • Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Glencoe’s residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
  • Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (5,406 in 2022); our figure for Glencoe is 5,426 (2025 Census estimate).
  • Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.

How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →

Questions about safety in Glencoe

Is Glencoe, AL safe?

There is no Safety Grade for Glencoe. Glencoe has no FBI crime figures of its own for 2023–2025, so there is nothing to grade it on. The nearest Alabama towns with a grade are Hokes Bluff (A−, 5 mi), Gadsden (D, 6 mi), Southside (A, 6 mi).

Who polices Glencoe?

Glencoe’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Glencoe”. Its figures are the ones on this page.

Heads-up board

Neighbors looking out for each other in Glencoe.

Town Square →
Weigh in
Does Glencoe feel safe walking around at night?

Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.

Post a heads-up

Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.

Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2022, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.