Hugh Wilson Hill House · Photo: Jerrye & Roy Klotz, MD · CC BY-SA 4.0Carrollton’s library lends 2.5 print items per resident, against a typical 3.9 for libraries its size
Carrollton Public Library serves Carrollton’s 986 residents. Last year it lent 2,417 print books and media.
Carrollton’s library, in brief
More library cards than residents
4,671 cards for 986 people. Cards held by people from outside the service area count too, so the total can pass the population. At the typical library serving under 2,500 people, it’s 54%. How it compares ↓
Alabama pays a big share
100% of the budget comes from the state, and 0% from local taxes. Nationally, most library money is local. What your card is worth ↓
A small-town library
Carrollton Public Library serves 986 residents with about one full-time staff, open about 45 hours a week. It’s compared only with libraries serving under 2,500 people, because per-person numbers always look big in a small town. A year at the library ↓
A big collection for the borrowing it gets
Carrollton Public Library holds 23,000 books and other items, but the average item went out less than once last year. What people borrow ↓
This summary is written from the numbers on this page. Numbers are the library’s own report to the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024; in a town this small, one busy program or a few avid readers move the per-resident numbers.
What’s behind Carrollton’s civic life grade
Carrollton isn’t graded on civic life: TownRatings grades towns of 1,000 residents or more.
Civic life counts registered nonprofits, library visits and online volunteering groups, so it can miss civic life that runs through congregations, mutual aid or neighbors looking out for each other.
Library visits: IMLS Public Libraries Survey, FY2024. Nonprofits: IRS Exempt Organizations Business Master File, October 2026. Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. How TownRatings grades civic life →
Ahead of most similar-size libraries on 1 of 3 measures
Per resident, against libraries serving under 2,500 people across the U.S.
Carrollton Public Library serves 986 people, so it’s measured against U.S. libraries serving under 2,500.
Every hour the doors are open, about 1 item goes out
Fiscal year 2024. The library’s own count.
Not reported for 2024: visits, spending and funding. The survey fills a missing figure with its own estimate; we leave estimates out rather than show them as the library’s count.
Books and media off the shelf
2,417 print loans last year. The library didn’t report its e-book and e-audiobook loans.
Each of the 23K books and other items on the shelves went out about 0.1 time last year, on average.
Borrow from home with your card, plus research databases: courses, journals, genealogy and more.
What kids borrow
Story times, clubs, classes and events, by who they’re for.
children’s books and media borrowed per child under 18 in Carrollton last year.
2 places to borrow in Carrollton
Carrollton Public Library, 225 Commerce Avenue, Carrollton.















E-books and audiobooks from home. Research databases: courses, journals, genealogy.
New in Carrollton? The Handbook →Hours are the survey’s yearly average. Check the library’s own site for today’s hours.
Other libraries in Carrollton
What a library card is worth
Set what you’d borrow in a month. It starts at what the average Carrollton cardholder borrows.
Late fines apply to some overdue items.
Retail prices are typical, rounded down: a new book $17, a kids’ book $12, an e-book or e-audiobook $15, a movie rental $4, a class or program $10, a computer or Wi-Fi session $3. The average cardholder’s month = the library’s yearly loans, attendance and Wi-Fi sessions ÷ its 4,671 cardholders ÷ 12.
What this data can and can’t tell you
From the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.
- Not reported for 2024: visits. Carrollton Public Library didn’t report visits; the survey’s estimate is its own, so we leave it out and never rank it.
- Not reported for 2024: spending and funding. The survey filled the figure with its own estimate, so it is left out.
- Digital loans not reported. The library didn’t report e-book loans, so borrowing here is print only.
Hours are the survey’s yearly average; libraries are compared with others serving about as many people. How TownRatings uses library figures →
Questions about the library and civic life in Carrollton
Does Carrollton have a public library?
Yes. Carrollton Public Library, 225 Commerce Avenue, serves Carrollton’s 986 residents (the survey’s count) and is open about 45 hours a week, averaged over the year.
Is Carrollton Public Library fine-free? Does it lend e-books?
It charges late fines on some overdue items, and it lends e-books and audiobooks with a card (the library’s 2024 survey report).
How busy is Carrollton’s library?
It lent 2.5 items per resident in 2024 (print). Visits weren’t reported for 2024.
What is Carrollton’s civic life grade?
Carrollton isn’t graded on civic life: TownRatings grades towns of 1,000 residents or more. How it works.
Book talk
Reading, story times and the library in Carrollton.
Libraries: Institute of Museum and Library Services, Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024. Each library reports its own numbers. Distances are straight-line from the town center. “What your card is worth” uses typical retail prices and is an estimate, not an official figure.