Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Brighton

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Safety in Brighton · Not graded

Brighton has no grade of its own; Midfield, 2 miles away, is the nearest that does

Brighton’s police reported to the FBI for 2023 and 2024 but not 2025, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025. 7 towns with a Safety Grade lie within 10 miles.

Violent crimes
47
reported to the FBI, 2024
Property crimes
52
reported to the FBI, 2024
Nearest graded town
2 mi
Midfield (C+)
1,000 neighbors · one year

For every 1,000 residents, about 24 property crimes reported

Property crime (23.6)Violent crime (21.3)Everyone else

Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2024

Brighton21.3
Rest of AL4.8
U.S. (FBI)3.6

Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2024

Brighton23.6
Rest of AL21.7
U.S. (FBI)17.7

Crimes reported to police in 2024 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.

And about 21 violent crimes, in 2024. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.

By year

The years Brighton’s police reported

Show as a table
YearBrightonRest of AlabamaBrightonRest of Alabama
2022not reported24.8not reported5.3
202332.722.227.84.9
202423.621.721.34.8
2025not reported19.9not reported4.4

Crimes per 1,000 residents

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of Alabama. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.

What gets reported

99 crimes reported in 2024

2024 offenses reported

Larceny / theft27
Burglary13
Vehicle theft12
Aggravated assault37
Robbery4
Rape1
Homicide5
Arson1
47
violent crimes
52
property crimes

Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.

47 violent and 52 property, as reported to the FBI by Brighton’s police.

Nearest with figures

The nearest Alabama towns with a Safety Grade

TownGradeDistanceViolentProperty
MidfieldC+2 mi3.49.0
Pleasant GroveB−4 mi1.712.9
HueytownD5 mi5.022.5
BessemerD−5 mi19.473.2
HomewoodC8 mi1.620.5
Vestavia HillsA−9 mi0.86.9

Straight-line distance from the center of Brighton. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Brighton.

Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

On the roads

Four people died in crashes on Brighton’s roads in 2019–2023

Brighton had 4 fatal crashes in five years, in which four people died; 1 was a pedestrian. 1 died in crash on an Interstate.

That is about what is typical for Alabama towns of 2,500–5,000 people: at their median rate (11.2 deaths per 100,000 residents a year), a town of Brighton’s size would see about 2 in five years. With numbers this small, a death or two either way changes the picture, so Brighton’s own rate (26.0) is context, not a ranking.

4
people died in crashes, 2019–2023
1
pedestrian among them
0
cyclists among them
26.0
per 100,000 a year · Alabama towns of 2,500–5,000: 11.2

Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.

Next door

Brighton and its neighbors

A rangeB rangeC rangeD rangeNot graded
TownGradeViolentProperty
BessemerD−19.473.2
MidfieldC+3.49.0
BirminghamD−13.443.2

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

  • It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
  • One number for all of Brighton. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
  • Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Brighton’s residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
  • Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (2,207 in 2024); our figure for Brighton is 2,249 (2025 Census estimate).
  • Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.

How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →

Questions about safety in Brighton

Is Brighton, AL safe?

There is no Safety Grade for Brighton. The nearest Alabama towns with a grade are Midfield (C+, 2 mi), Pleasant Grove (B−, 4 mi), Hueytown (D, 5 mi).

Who polices Brighton?

Brighton’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Brighton”. Its figures are the ones on this page.

Heads-up board

Town Square →
Weigh in
Does Brighton feel safe walking around at night?

Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.

Post a heads-up

Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.

Neighbors looking out for each other in Brighton.

Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2024, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.