Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Igiugig

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
St. Nicholas ChapelSt. Nicholas Chapel · Photo: Jet Lowe · Public domain
Igiugig Tribal Library

Igiugig’s library runs 164 programs per 1,000 residents, against a typical 60 for libraries its size

Igiugig Tribal Library serves Igiugig’s 67 residents. Last year it lent 203 books, movies and e-books and logged 432 visits.

1 Airport Way, Igiugig 99613
–Civic lifeNot graded: fewer than 1,000 residents
Borrowed a year
203
3 per resident
Visits a year
432
6.4 per resident · Above typical (3.5)
Programs & events
11
about 1 a week · 78 attended
Cardholders
100%
92 cards
In brief

The short version on Igiugig’s library

Alaska pays a big share

38% of the budget comes from the state, and 0% from local taxes. Nationally, most library money is local. What your card is worth ↓

More library cards than residents

92 cards for 67 people. Cards held by people from outside the service area count too, so the total can pass the population. At the typical library serving under 2,500 people, it’s 54%. How it compares ↓

More of a place to be than a place to borrow

Visits per resident beat 77% of similar-size libraries, while borrowing beats only 29%. The building also logs about 1 Wi-Fi sessions a day. A year at the library ↓

Kids’ books are most of what goes out

Children’s books and media make up 84% of print loans. Per resident, kids’ borrowing is higher than at 62% of similar-size libraries. What people borrow ↓

A small-town library

Igiugig Tribal Library serves 67 residents with about one full-time staff. It’s compared only with libraries serving under 2,500 people, because per-person numbers always look big in a small town. A year at the library ↓

This summary is written from the numbers on this page. Numbers are the library’s own report to the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024; in a town this small, one busy program or a few avid readers move the per-resident numbers.

Civic life grade

What’s behind Igiugig’s civic life grade

Igiugig isn’t graded on civic life: TownRatings grades towns of 1,000 residents or more.

–
Civic lifeA character grade: shown, never part of Igiugig’s overall grade.

Civic life counts registered nonprofits, library visits and online volunteering groups, so it can miss civic life that runs through congregations, mutual aid or neighbors looking out for each other.

Library visits: IMLS Public Libraries Survey, FY2024. Nonprofits: IRS Exempt Organizations Business Master File, October 2026. Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. How TownRatings grades civic life →

★ What stands out · What your card is worth

What a library card is worth

Set what you’d borrow in a month. It starts at what the average Igiugig cardholder borrows.

In a month I’d use…
Books$17 each
1
Kids’ books$12 each
0
E-books & audio$15 each
0
Movies & music$4 each
0
Programs & classes$10 a program
0
Computer & Wi-Fi$3 a session
0
Your card saves you about
$204
a year at retail prices · $17 a month

Who pays for it
$272 per resident a year

Typical for a library this size: $54. Operating budget $18K.

State 38%Federal 62%

Last year the library lent and hosted about $4,059 worth of books, e-books, programs and Wi-Fi on a $18K budget.

Fine-free. No late fees on books returned late.

Retail prices are typical, rounded down: a new book $17, a kids’ book $12, an e-book or e-audiobook $15, a movie rental $4, a class or program $10, a computer or Wi-Fi session $3. The average cardholder’s month = the library’s yearly loans, attendance and Wi-Fi sessions ÷ its 92 cardholders ÷ 12.

How it compares

Ahead of most similar-size libraries on 6 of 8 measures

Per resident, against libraries serving under 2,500 people across the U.S.

Visits per resident 6.4 visits · typical 3.5Higher than 77%
Borrowing per resident 2.3 print items · typical 3.9Lower than 71%
Digital borrowing 0.7 e-items · typical 1Lower than 58%
Kids’ borrowing 1.9 kids’ items · typical 1.4Higher than 62%
Program attendance 1.2 attendees · typical 0.7Higher than 67%
Programs offered 164.2 per 1,000 residents · typical 60Higher than 84%
Cardholders 100% of residents · typical 54%Higher than 88%
Spending $272 per resident · typical $54Top 10%
Fewer per residentMore per resident
Size group

Igiugig Tribal Library serves 67 people, so it’s measured against U.S. libraries serving under 2,500.

A year at the library

A year at Igiugig Tribal Library

Fiscal year 2024. The library’s own count.

432
visits
6.4 per resident
203
loans, print + digital
3 per resident
11
programs & events
78 attended
92
library cards
100% of people served
Every week2people at a program
Every day1Wi-Fi sessions
4 public computers12K books & media on the shelves

Not reported for 2024: hours open. The survey fills a missing figure with its own estimate; we leave estimates out rather than show them as the library’s count.

What people borrow

More than half the print loans are kids’ books

203 loans last year: print, kids’ and digital.

203loans
Books & media (adults) 12%Kids’ books & media 64%E-books, audio & streaming 24%
How hard the shelves work
0×

Each of the 12K books and other items on the shelves went out about 0 time last year, on average.

From your couch

49 e-books, e-audiobooks and streams last year. Borrow from home with your card, plus research databases: courses, journals, genealogy and more.

Kids & programs

11 programs a year

Story times, clubs, classes and events, by who they’re for.

Schools in Igiugig →

Programs last year by age group

Ages 0–50
Ages 6–113
Teens0
Adults0
All ages8
130
kids’ books & media borrowed
78
people at programs
11
programs
The building

Find it

Igiugig Tribal Library, 1 Airport Way, Igiugig.

840
square feet
12K
books & media
With a card

No late fees. E-books and audiobooks from home. Research databases: courses, journals, genealogy.

New in Igiugig? The Handbook →

Hours are the survey’s yearly average. Check the library’s own site for today’s hours.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

From the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.

  • Not reported for 2024: hours open. The survey filled the figure with its own estimate, so it is left out.

Hours are the survey’s yearly average; libraries are compared with others serving about as many people. How TownRatings uses library figures →

Questions about the library and civic life in Igiugig

Does Igiugig have a public library?

Yes. Igiugig Tribal Library, 1 Airport Way, serves Igiugig’s 67 residents (the survey’s count).

Is Igiugig Tribal Library fine-free? Does it lend e-books?

Yes to both: no late fees, and e-books, audiobooks and research databases with a card (the library’s 2024 survey report).

How busy is Igiugig’s library?

It logged 6.4 visits and lent 3.0 items per resident in 2024, against a typical 3.5 visits for libraries serving under 2,500 people.

What is Igiugig’s civic life grade?

Igiugig isn’t graded on civic life: TownRatings grades towns of 1,000 residents or more. How it works.

Book talk

Reading, story times and the library in Igiugig.

Town Square →
Start a conversation

Libraries: Institute of Museum and Library Services, Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024. Each library reports its own numbers. Distances are straight-line from the town center. “What your card is worth” uses typical retail prices and is an estimate, not an official figure.