Sanctuary River Cabin No. 31 · Photo: National Park Service · Public domainHealy’s library lends 8.7 print items per resident, against a typical 3.9 for libraries its size
Tri-Valley Community Library serves Healy’s 944 residents. Last year it lent 11K books, movies and e-books and logged 929 visits.
The short version on Healy’s library
More library cards than residents
1,176 cards for 944 people. Cards held by people from outside the service area count too, so the total can pass the population. At the typical library serving under 2,500 people, it’s 54%. How it compares ↓
More than half the print loans are for kids
Children’s books and media are 85% of print loans, and kids’ borrowing per resident is higher than at 95% of similar-size libraries. That works out to about 36 items per child in Healy last year. Kids & programs ↓
People borrow more than they stay
Borrowing per resident is higher than at 83% of similar-size libraries, but visits are lower than at 92%. People come in, pick up their books and go. How it compares ↓
A small-town library
Tri-Valley Community Library serves 944 residents with about one full-time staff. It’s compared only with libraries serving under 2,500 people, because per-person numbers always look big in a small town. A year at the library ↓
Few programs for a library this size
Tri-Valley Community Library offered 8 programs last year, 8.5 per 1,000 residents against a typical 60. Kids & programs ↓
This summary is written from the numbers on this page. Numbers are the library’s own report to the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024; in a town this small, one busy program or a few avid readers move the per-resident numbers.
What’s behind Healy’s civic life grade
Healy isn’t graded on civic life: TownRatings grades towns of 1,000 residents or more.
Civic life counts registered nonprofits, library visits and online volunteering groups, so it can miss civic life that runs through congregations, mutual aid or neighbors looking out for each other.
Library visits: IMLS Public Libraries Survey, FY2024. Nonprofits: IRS Exempt Organizations Business Master File, October 2026. Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. How TownRatings grades civic life →
8 programs a year
Story times, clubs, classes and events, by who they’re for.
Programs last year by age group
story times and programs a week for ages 0–5, on average.
children’s books and media borrowed per child under 18 in Healy last year.
Ahead of most similar-size libraries on 4 of 8 measures
Per resident, against libraries serving under 2,500 people across the U.S.
Tri-Valley Community Library serves 944 people, so it’s measured against U.S. libraries serving under 2,500.
A year at Tri-Valley Community Library
Fiscal year 2024. The library’s own count.
Not reported for 2024: hours open. The survey fills a missing figure with its own estimate; we leave estimates out rather than show them as the library’s count.
More than half the print loans are kids’ books
11K loans last year: print, kids’ and digital.
Each of the 28K books and other items on the shelves went out about 0.3 time last year, on average.
2,430 e-books, e-audiobooks and streams last year. Borrow from home with your card, plus research databases: courses, journals, genealogy and more.
Find it
Tri-Valley Community Library, 400 Suntrana Street, Healy.















No late fees. E-books and audiobooks from home. Research databases: courses, journals, genealogy.
New in Healy? The Handbook →Hours are the survey’s yearly average. Check the library’s own site for today’s hours.
For every $1 it spends, the library lends about $4.15 worth
Set what you’d borrow in a month. It starts at what the average Healy cardholder borrows.
Typical for a library this size: $54. Operating budget $35K.
Last year the library lent and hosted about $145K worth of books, e-books, programs and Wi-Fi on a $35K budget.
Fine-free. No late fees on books returned late.
Retail prices are typical, rounded down: a new book $17, a kids’ book $12, an e-book or e-audiobook $15, a movie rental $4, a class or program $10, a computer or Wi-Fi session $3. The average cardholder’s month = the library’s yearly loans, attendance and Wi-Fi sessions ÷ its 1,176 cardholders ÷ 12.
Libraries next door
Who has a library of their own, and how much each town borrows. Tap a town to see its library.
| Town | Library | Loans per resident | Hours | Civic life |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Healy | Tri-Valley Community Library fine-free | 11.3 | — | — under 1,000 residents |
| Ferry | None of its own | — | — | — under 1,000 residents |
| Denali Park | None of its own | — | — | — under 1,000 residents |
Loans = print + digital items borrowed in the library’s fiscal year, per person it serves. — = no library of its own, a county or regional system (its numbers cover many towns), or no report. Civic life: — = not graded (unincorporated places, whose nonprofits can’t be placed by mailing address, or towns with fewer than two of the three inputs).
What this data can and can’t tell you
From the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.
- Not reported for 2024: hours open. The survey filled the figure with its own estimate, so it is left out.
Hours are the survey’s yearly average; libraries are compared with others serving about as many people. How TownRatings uses library figures →
Questions about the library and civic life in Healy
Does Healy have a public library?
Yes. Tri-Valley Community Library, 400 Suntrana Street, serves Healy’s 944 residents (the survey’s count).
Is Tri-Valley Community Library fine-free? Does it lend e-books?
Yes to both: no late fees, and e-books, audiobooks and research databases with a card (the library’s 2024 survey report).
How busy is Healy’s library?
It logged 1.0 visits and lent 11.3 items per resident in 2024, against a typical 3.5 visits for libraries serving under 2,500 people.
What is Healy’s civic life grade?
Healy isn’t graded on civic life: TownRatings grades towns of 1,000 residents or more. How it works.
Book talk
Reading, story times and the library in Healy.
Libraries: Institute of Museum and Library Services, Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024. Each library reports its own numbers. Distances are straight-line from the town center. “What your card is worth” uses typical retail prices and is an estimate, not an official figure.