Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Anchorage

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Oscar Gill HouseOscar Gill House · Photo: 61north · CC BY-SA 4.0
Anchorage Public Library

Anchorage’s library runs 4.8 programs per 1,000 residents, against a typical 9 for libraries its size

Anchorage Public Library serves 289,653 people in and around Anchorage from 5 locations. Last year it lent 1.8M books, movies and e-books and logged 532K visits.

3600 Denali Street, Anchorage 99503
BCivic lifeAhead of 64% of U.S. towns · #15 of 17 in Alaska. Library visits, nonprofits and volunteering.
Borrowed a year
1.8M
6.1 per resident
Visits a year
532K
1.8 per resident · Below typical (2.1)
Programs & events
1,392
about 27 a week · 31K attended
Cardholders
41%
118,646 cards
In brief

Anchorage’s library, in brief

Most of the library’s borrowing is digital

E-books, e-audiobooks and streaming make up 51% of loans, more per resident than at 81% of similar-size libraries. Print still makes up 49%, much of it kids’ books. What people borrow ↓

Few programs for a library this size

Anchorage Public Library offered 1,392 programs last year, 4.8 per 1,000 residents against a typical 9. Kids & programs ↓

Five branches in Anchorage

Anchorage has five branches of the Anchorage Public Library, which serves 289,653 people in and around Anchorage. One card works at all of them. The buildings ↓

This summary is written from the numbers on this page. Numbers are the library’s own report to the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024; Anchorage Public Library serves 289,653 people in and around Anchorage, and its numbers cover all of them.

Civic life grade

What’s behind Anchorage’s civic life grade

On library visits, community nonprofits and volunteering, Anchorage is ahead of 64% of U.S. towns, #15 of 17 in Alaska. Among the 385 U.S. cities over 100,000 we grade, it ranks #55. The share of younger adults in volunteering groups holds the grade up; library visits pull it down.

B
Civic lifeA character grade: shown, never part of Anchorage’s overall grade.
All U.S. towns we grade (17,556)Ahead of 64%
FewerMore
Alaska towns we grade (17)Ahead of 12%
U.S. towns with similar incomes, $77K–$129K (6,640)Ahead of 67%

Civic life counts registered nonprofits, library visits and online volunteering groups, so it can miss civic life that runs through congregations, mutual aid or neighbors looking out for each other.

How sure. Graded on any two of the three inputs instead, the letter would range from C+ to A. The volunteering share is a 2022 estimate from Facebook users aged 25–44.

Library visits: IMLS Public Libraries Survey, FY2024. Nonprofits: IRS Exempt Organizations Business Master File, October 2026. Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. How TownRatings grades civic life →

Places to belong

1,472 community nonprofits are registered in Anchorage

5.1 per 1,000 residents, against a U.S. town median of 3.7. The largest group: civic groups, clubs & veterans.

Community nonprofits, by kind

Arts & culture1440.50 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.24
Youth, sports & recreation2120.73 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.52
Civic groups, clubs & veterans2630.91 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.74
Human services2140.74 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.59
Education2080.72 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.43
Health930.32 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.16
Environment & animals1020.35 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.17
Other2360.82 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.47

Counted from the IRS list of tax-exempt organizations by mailing address (fractions where a ZIP code spans towns). Congregations are counted apart (356 here), since whether a church registers depends on its denomination, not the town. 52 more name a national or statewide reach and are left out.

Volunteering

10.9%

10.9% of Anchorage’s Facebook users aged 25–44 belong to a volunteering or activism group, against 14.9% in the typical Alaska town and 7.5% nationally.

Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. ZIP-code figures, weighted by where Anchorage’s residents live; 2022.

★ What stands out · What people borrow

51% of borrowing is digital

1.8M loans last year: print, kids’ and digital.

1.8Mloans
Books & media (adults) 20%Kids’ books & media 29%E-books, audio & streaming 51%
From your couch

914,287 e-books, e-audiobooks and streams last year. Borrow from home with your card, plus research databases: courses, journals, genealogy and more.

How it compares

Ahead of most similar-size libraries on 4 of 8 measures

Per resident, against libraries serving 100,000+ people across the U.S.

Visits per resident 1.8 visits · typical 2.1Lower than 59%
Borrowing per resident 3 print items · typical 3.2Lower than 54%
Digital borrowing 3.2 e-items · typical 1.4Higher than 81%
Kids’ borrowing 1.8 kids’ items · typical 1.6Higher than 55%
Program attendance 0.1 attendees · typical 0.2Lower than 87%
Programs offered 4.8 per 1,000 residents · typical 9Lower than 85%
Cardholders 41% of residents · typical 41%Higher than 50%
Spending $47 per resident · typical $36Higher than 64%
Fewer per residentMore per resident
Size group

Anchorage Public Library serves 289,653 people, so it’s measured against U.S. libraries serving 100,000+.

A year at the library

A year at Anchorage Public Library

Fiscal year 2024, for the whole Anchorage Public Library system. The library’s own count.

532K
visits
1.8 per resident
1.8M
loans, print + digital
6.1 per resident
1,392
programs & events
31K attended
119K
library cards
41% of people served
Every week591people at a program
Every day197Wi-Fi sessions
74 staff (full-time equivalent)138 public computers

Not reported for 2024: hours open. The survey fills a missing figure with its own estimate; we leave estimates out rather than show them as the library’s count.

Kids & programs

About 13 kids’ programs a week

Story times, clubs, classes and events, across the whole system, by who they’re for.

Schools in Anchorage →

Programs last year by age group

Ages 0–5457
Ages 6–11205
Teens127
Adults291
All ages312
Little ones
8.8

story times and programs a week for ages 0–5, on average.

515K
kids’ books & media borrowed
31K
people at programs
1,392
programs
The buildings

5 places to borrow in Anchorage

Z. J. Loussac Library, 3600 Denali Street, Anchorage.

146,171
square feet
With a card

No late fees. E-books and audiobooks from home. Research databases: courses, journals, genealogy. Good at every Anchorage Public Library branch.

New in Anchorage? The Handbook →

Hours are the survey’s yearly average. Check the library’s own site for today’s hours.

Other Anchorage Public Library branches in Anchorage

What your card is worth

For every $1 it spends, the library lends about $1.94 worth

Set what you’d borrow in a month. It starts at what the average Anchorage cardholder borrows.

In a month I’d use…
Books$17 each
1
Kids’ books$12 each
0
E-books & audio$15 each
1
Movies & music$4 each
0
Programs & classes$10 a program
0
Computer & Wi-Fi$3 a session
0
Your card saves you about
$384
a year at retail prices · $32 a month

Who pays for it
$47 per resident a year

Typical for a library this size: $36. Operating budget $14M.

Local taxes 97%State 0%Federal 1%Gifts & other 1%

Last year the library lent and hosted about $26M worth of books, e-books, programs and Wi-Fi on a $14M budget.

Fine-free. No late fees on books returned late.

Retail prices are typical, rounded down: a new book $17, a kids’ book $12, an e-book or e-audiobook $15, a movie rental $4, a class or program $10, a computer or Wi-Fi session $3. The average cardholder’s month = the library’s yearly loans, attendance and Wi-Fi sessions ÷ its 118,646 cardholders ÷ 12.

Next door

Libraries next door

Who has a library of their own, and how much each town borrows. Tap a town to see its library.

12+ loans per resident8–124–8Under 4No library / shared system
TownLibraryLoans per residentHoursCivic life
AnchorageZ. J. Loussac Library fine-free——B
Knik RiverNone of its own——— under 1,000 residents

Loans = print + digital items borrowed in the library’s fiscal year, per person it serves. — = no library of its own, a county or regional system (its numbers cover many towns), or no report. Civic life: — = not graded (unincorporated places, whose nonprofits can’t be placed by mailing address, or towns with fewer than two of the three inputs).

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

From the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.

  • Not reported for 2024: hours open. The survey filled the figure with its own estimate, so it is left out.
  • System-wide. Anchorage Public Library serves 289,653 people in and around Anchorage, so the yearly numbers cover all of them, not just Anchorage.

Hours are the survey’s yearly average; libraries are compared with others serving about as many people. How TownRatings uses library figures →

Questions about the library and civic life in Anchorage

Does Anchorage have a public library?

Yes. Anchorage Public Library, 3600 Denali Street, serves 289,653 people in and around Anchorage (the survey’s count).

Is Anchorage Public Library fine-free? Does it lend e-books?

Yes to both: no late fees, and e-books, audiobooks and research databases with a card (the library’s 2024 survey report).

How busy is Anchorage’s library?

It logged 1.8 visits and lent 6.1 items per resident in 2024, against a typical 2.1 visits for libraries serving 100,000+ people.

What is Anchorage’s civic life grade?

B Anchorage is ahead of 64% of U.S. towns on civic life, #15 of 17 in Alaska. The grade combines library visits per resident, community nonprofits per 1,000 residents and the share of adults 25–44 in volunteering groups. It’s a character grade, so it isn’t part of the overall grade. How it works.

Book talk

Reading, story times and the library in Anchorage.

Town Square →
Start a conversation

Libraries: Institute of Museum and Library Services, Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024. Each library reports its own numbers. Distances are straight-line from the town center. “What your card is worth” uses typical retail prices and is an estimate, not an official figure.